Give Now

2016 New Jersey Awards of Excellence Honorees Announced

///2016 New Jersey Awards of Excellence Honorees Announced

2016 New Jersey Awards of Excellence Honorees Announced

WASHINGTON, March 24, 2016 – The Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF) today announced award recipients for the 16th Annual New Jersey Awards of Excellence, which celebrate the achievements of individuals who impart a positive impact on the lives of the next generation of leaders in New Jersey.

Proceeds from the Awards of Excellence benefit the Thurgood Marshall College Fund, the leading advocate for the nation’s 101 Historically Black College & Universities (HBCU), whose member-schools include 47 publicly-supported HBCUs. This year’s awards ceremony will be held at Nanina’s in the Park in Belleville, New Jersey, on March 31, 2016, with a reception beginning at 5:30 p.m. and ceremony at 6:30 p.m.

2016 honorees include:

  • The Honorable Bonnie Watson Coleman, US House of Representatives (NJ – 12th)
  • James Johnson, Partner, Debevoise & Plimpton, LLP
  • Paul Zoubek, Partner, Montgomery McCracken Walker & Rhoads, LLP
  • Vaughn McKoy, Managing Director &Vice President, PSEG Long Island

“This year’s honorees represent the most active civic leaders across New Jersey,” said Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., President & CEO of TMCF. “Their commitment to HBCUs and black student achievement sets an example for the entire country.”

“I’m deeply honored to receive the recognition of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund,” said Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-N.J.-12th). “Building a world for our young people that accepts them for who they are, that offers them the tools they need to succeed, and gives them a chance to achieve the bright future that they deserve has always been among my highest priorities in public service.”

“Education has empowered me,” said Vaughn McKoy, Vice President, Legal, with PSEG Long Island. “So I feel compelled to use my gifts, talents and abilities to empower others in meaningful ways that compel them to continue the legacy of Thurgood Marshall’s bold commitment to justice and equality for all.”

Past honorees include: Rev. Edwin Leahy, St. Benedict Preparatory School; Stephen Adubato, Sr., the North Ward Center; and Glenn Cunningham, former Mayor of Jersey City.

Seats and tables may be purchased in advance by registering online or contacting Mary Jones at