Launched in April 2015 to support the nation’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), the mission of the Bipartisan Congressional HBCU Caucus is to highlight and address unique challenges that HBCUs face; and to make sure their needs are heard and recognized on Capitol Hill. The Bipartisan Congressional HBCU Caucus is an official caucus approved by the Committee on House Administration in the 114th Congress.

The co-chairs of the Caucus, Representatives Alma Adams (D-NC) and Bradley Byrne (R-AL), both have education backgrounds and are members of the House Education and the Workforce Committee and the Subcommittee on Higher Education. Rep. Adams is a former professor of Bennett College and an alumnus of North Carolina A&T State University and Rep. Byrne is a former Chancellor of the Alabama Community College System.

The purpose of the Caucus is to promote and protect the interests of HBCUs. Together, Members of Congress who have joined the Caucus, will work to create a national dialogue, educating other Members of Congress and their staffs about the issues impacting HBCUs. The Caucus will also work to draft meaningful bipartisan legislation to address the needs of HBCUs, and to support students and graduates of HBCUs by increasing access and career opportunities.

There are more than 100 HBCUs in the United States that enroll more than 300,000 students per year. HBCUs represent 3 percent of colleges and universities, yet graduate 20 percent of African Americans with undergraduate degrees – and 25 percent of African Americans with degrees in science, technology, engineering and math fields.

On April 28th, TMCF helped launch the new Congressional HBCU Caucus with co-chair Representatives Alma Adams (D-NC) and Bradley Byrne (R-AL). The launch event was to inform attendees about the Caucus and included a panel discussion on the relevancy of HBCUs followed by a reception.

Click here to view photos from the event.

Caucus Members


Congresswoman Alma Adams (D-NC-12)Congressman Bradley Byrne (R-AL-1)

Vice Chairs

Congresswoman Terri Sewell (D-AL-7)Congressman Bennie Thompson (D-MS-2)


Sanford Bishop (D-GA)Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
Mo Brooks (R-AL)Richard Hudson (R-NC)
Corrine Brown (D-FL)Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
G.K. Butterfield (D-NC)Hank Johnson (D-GA)
Lacy Clay (D-MO)Walter Jones (R-NC)
Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO)Brenda Lawrence (D-MI)
Jim Clyburn (D-SC)Barbara Lee (D-CA)
Steve Cohen (D-TN)John Lewis (D-GA)
Joseph Crowley (D-NY)David Price (D-NC)
Elijah Cummings (D-MD)Stacey Plaskett (D-VI)
Chaka Fattah (D-PA)Jared Polis (D-CO
Randy Forbes (R-VA)Cedric Richmond (D-LA)
Marcia Fudge (D-OH)Bobby Scott (D-VA)
Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)Mark Veasey (D-TX)
Gwen Graham (D-FL)Mark Walker (R-NC)
Alcee Hastings (D-FL)Frederica Wilson (D-FL)